Shadows in Bronze: A Marcus Didius Falco Mystery (Marcus Didius Falco Mysteries #2) (Paperback)

Shopping cart

Shadows in Bronze: A Marcus Didius Falco Mystery (Marcus Didius Falco Mysteries #2) Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Marcus Didius Falco Mysteries series.


"Some men are born lucky, others are called Didius Falco."

It's the first century CE in Rome and informer and occasional imperial agent Marcus Didius Falco is miserable. The high-born woman he fell in love with, Helena Justina, has broken off their stormy, impossible affair. So when Emperor Vespasian assigns Falco a task that will take him out of Rome, he can't wait. Disguised as vacationer in the company of his comrade Petronius Longus, captain of the Aventine Watch, Falco travels south to Neapolis, Capreae and Pompeii where he discovers a conspiracy involving the Egyptian grain shipment to Rome. He also stumbles across Helena Justina, conveniently also on a trip out of town, who might, unwittingly, be enmeshed in this dangerous, treasonous scheme.
Lindsey Davis' Shadows in Bronze is historical mystery at its best.

About the Author

Lindsey Davis was born and raised in Birmingham, England. After taking an English degree at Oxford and working for the civil service for thirteen years, she “ran away to be a writer.” Her internationally bestselling novels featuring ancient Roman detective Marcus Didius Falco include Venus in Copper, The Iron Hand of Mars, Nemesis and Alexandria. She is also the author of Rebels and Traitors, set during the English Civil War. Davis is the recipient of the Crime Writers’ Association Cartier Diamond Dagger Award, the highest accolade for crime writers, as well as the Ellis Peters Historical Dagger Award and the Authors' Club Best First Novel award.

Praise For…

“Davis mixes Modern sensibility [and] fascinating historical detail.” —Chicago Tribune

“Knockabout adventure.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Davis makes Rome live.” —Washington Post Book World

Product Details
ISBN: 9780312614232
ISBN-10: 0312614233
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: October 11th, 2011
Pages: 464
Language: English
Series: Marcus Didius Falco Mysteries