Paris in the Dark (Kobo eBook)

Paris in the Dark Cover Image
$14.00
Available Now

Description


From Pulitzer Prize-winning author Robert Olen Butler, the World War I-era Christopher Marlowe Cobb thriller series has garnered fantastic praise from the New York Times Book Review, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and other outlets. The first book in the series, The Hot Country, was named among the Washington Post’s 50 notable works of fiction for 2012.

After the Grove Press publication of Perfume River (which has sold over 10,000 copies), we’re excited to now have the fourth book in the Cobb series—and the best so far—for the Mysterious Press, Paris in the Dark. It involves a compelling and unexpectedly timely brew of topics: censorship of the press, homemade bombs set off in public places, controversy over refugees—not to mention the involvement of foolhardy American ambulance drivers, Parisian café culture, and anarchical politics.

Paris in the Dark has a more commercial feel than the previous books in this series, with a more thrillerish, plot-driven narrative.

For fans of Alan Furst, Philip Kerr, Joseph Kanon, and Charles Todd.

The character of Christopher “Kit” Cobb is charismatic, charming, and has been developing throughout the series from an adventurous foreign correspondent into a truly dangerous spy. The son of a famous theater actress, he has a special knack for seeing through guises—and crafting his own.

From London to Istanbul, Berlin to Paris, Butler’s historical settings are richly detailed and wonderfully cosmopolitan.

Butler’s A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain won the 1993 Pulitzer Prize for fiction and has sold over 250,000 copies worldwide. He received the 2013 F. Scott Fitzgerald Award for Outstanding Achievement in American Literature and is also the recipient of two National Magazine Awards.

Perfume River was a finalist for the 2017 Southern Book Prize, was longlisted for the 2017 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction, and garnered praise from the New York Times Book Review, New Yorker, Miami Herald, Washington Post, and Richard Ford, among others.